The Perfect Guests

The Perfect Guests

Book - 2021 | First Edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"1980: Beth Soames is fourteen years old when a kind couple finds her playing the violin at her orphanage's yearly fund-raiser. The Averills take her home with them to Raven Hall, a rambling manor on the Norfolk coast. There she runs wild with their daughter, Nina, and they become fast friends. At times, Beth even dreams she's truly part of the family...until she's asked to take part in what seems like a harmless game--and nothing is ever the same. Present day: Sadie Langton is an actress struggling to make ends meet when she lands a well-paying gig attending a weekend party. Her anonymous employer sends her a suitcase of clothing, a dossier of the role she is to play, and instructions--it's strange, but she needs the money, and when she sees the stunning manor she'll be staying at she can't resist the chance. In person, Raven Hall is even grander than she'd imagined--even with the damage from a fire decades before--but the walls seem to have eyes. As day turns to night, there is something off about the glamorous guests who arrive, and as the game she is meant to be leading begins, it becomes chillingly apparent their unseen host has plans for all of them...including her"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Berkley, 2021
Edition: First Edition
Copyright Date: ©2021
ISBN: 9780593201602
0593201604
9780440000488
0440000483
Branch Call Number: F ROUS-E
Characteristics: 284 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
carolefort
Feb 24, 2021

The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous is a fascinating novel that is set in the vicinity of the English fens. The story alternates between 1988 and 2019. In the eighties Beth, an orphan living in a children’s home, is selected to live at Raven Hall, an elaborate estate. She is to be a companion to the daughter of the house, Nina. The two girls soon become fast friends and all is well until it isn’t! In 2019, an eager actress, Sadie, is invited to Raven Hall, to participate in what she believes is a murder mystery evening. At this point, the night turns into something right out of the Agatha Christie mysteries. There are several invitees, all strangers to each other. The guests do not know who owns Raven Hall now or who organized the bizarre evening. Nothing will be as it seems, leaving everyone bewildered and confused. The rest will be up to the reader to investigate and solve. The Perfect Guests is an excellent choice for a winter evening, by the fire. Emma Rous has written a mystery within a mystery that will hold your attention to the very end. Highly recommended. Thank you to Berkley Publishing Group, NetGalley and the author for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

b
betsymarzoni
Feb 13, 2021

Tight, riveting, page-turner with lots of surprises perfect for the gloom of cold February.

k
Katie_Dublin
Feb 11, 2021

Good thriller. Some twists were pretty obvious, but enough mystery to keep you intrigued.

JCLCatherineG Jan 22, 2021

This was an intriguing and eerie story in the beginning but the conclusion was so absurd, I wish I hadn’t wasted my time on this one.

a
aliciamarie
Jan 06, 2021

From the start I was very intrigued. This is my first book from author, Emma Rous, and she does a phenomenal job setting the scene and building characters. Each chapter alternated between Beth, a teenager living in the house as a guest in the late 80s and Sadie, an aspiring actress in 2019 who is invited to play a part in the grand reopening of the mansion.

Beth's chapters are filled with backstories about the odd behavior of the inhabitants of Raven Hall she experienced when she lived there. Sadie's chapters are filled with more odd characters who somehow have a connection to the house's past. How do they all fit together?

I was wholly sucked into this mystery. I can't say enough how the duel timelines really made this fun. Each page turn lead me deeper into the mystery and I could not for the life of me connect the dots. Then came the climax and ending and I was left with a feeling of emptiness.

The ending came fast and felt rushed. It seemed quite far-fetched and unbelievable. It was so unexpected, but I felt completely let down.

Despite the ending, I did enjoy this book as a whole. It was a wild journey that I would absolutely read again and recommend to everyone. A solid 4 1/2 star read!

The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous is due to be released here in the United States on January 12, 2021 so pre-order now!

Thanks to Netgalley and Berkley Publishing Group for allowing me an advanced copy to read and give my honest review.

Happy Reading!

d
darladoodles
Dec 31, 2020

Four surprising twisty turny stars to this new novel from Emma Rous. That Raven Hall must be some house. There are multiple POVs and two timelines to juggle. The only piece I found a bit confusing was the group assembled for the mystery game. If you haven't read the book yet, my advice is not to try to hard to sort that all out immediately. As pieces of the mystery are revealed one by one, the reader gets to examine each guest in turn and discover how they fit into the overall picture. Overall, I like this one better than 'The Au Pair.' If you enjoy books where a house casts a shadow over all involved, you will like this one. Includes a Reader's Guide with additional info on the Fens and discussion questions. Should appeal to readers who enjoy Kate Morton and Laura McHugh.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top