Eight Perfect Murders

Eight Perfect Murders

Book - 2020 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
From the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation because a very clever killer has started using his list of fiction's most ingenious murders.-- Amazon.
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2020
ISBN: 9780062838209
0062838202
Branch Call Number: F SWANS-P
Characteristics: 270 pages ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: 8 perfect murders

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

LibraryReads March 2020

Nothing says “must read” quite like a Librarian’s stamp of approval! Every month LibraryReads.org releases the top picks for the month, as voted on by Librarians across the country. Subscribe to Tacoma Library’s e-Newsletter service and get the Library Reads picks and more delivered straight to your inbox. Check out the LibraryReads’ picks for March 2020: My Dark Vanessa Darling Rose Gold The G... (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLBetM Mar 26, 2020

A quick, clever read that keeps your mind engaged but does nothing for your (my) feelings. I prefer books with more heart, so though I can give a nod to the author, it won't be listed among my favorites.

k
Katie_Dublin
Mar 21, 2020

A fun, quick read. Sure, the plot is a bit ridiculous, but it's an enjoyable homage to the genre. Perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes' You.

e
Eil_1
Mar 20, 2020

This was a somewhat tedious plotted 'thriller'. Forced myself to finish the book. "Throw Mama from the Train" with DeVito and Schwats... was perhaps taken from one of the books on Malcom's blog. Wouldn't recommend it - as one other reviewer wrote "too ho-hum".

b
brangwinn
Mar 08, 2020

I was introduced to some new to me mysteries, but overall, I’d say this book is ho-hum. found the fact an FBI agent worked with a private individual on solving crimes implausible. I could see the FBI agent consulting with an expert on mysteries, but the expert not being an active participant. The concept of how two murderers were able to manipulate each other into action didn’t ring true. What did feel true was the bookstore and the love of books.

JCLPiepieB Mar 03, 2020

This is the book Caroline Kepnes fans should read while waiting for You season 3 and a third Joe Goldberg book. You won't be able to put this one down!

debwalker Mar 02, 2020

When a killer is replicating the "perfect murders" you listed in a blog post......

d
darladoodles
Feb 21, 2020

Beware the bookish blogpost that comes back to bit you in the bum. Malcolm Kershaw is visited by an FBI agent at his indie bookstore, Old Devil's. The agent's name is Gwen and she needs to question Mal about murders that seem to be mirroring his blogpost listing eight mystery novels that contain perfect murders. So far, Gwen suspects three of the titles have been reenacted. Who is the murdere? Which one of the dead was the true target? What is Mal not telling us as he shares his memoir with the reader? Bibliophiles will love the inclusion of classic mystery plots from books like "The ABC Murders" by Agatha Christie and the other seven books on the list (even A.A. Milnes's "Red House Mystery"). I especially loved Nero the orange tabby and resident bookstore cat. This is my favorite Peter Swanson title yet!

ArapahoeAlice Feb 17, 2020

Several years ago bookstore owner Mel Kershaw wrote a blog about eight perfect murders he found in murder mysteries. An FBI agent becomes suspicious when real-life murders appear to be imitating those from the blog. Who is committing the murders? Is it someone Mal knows? Will he be a victim? Great suspense with lots of twists.

JCLGreggW Jan 23, 2020

I've been a low-key fan of Swanson's excellent thrillers for a while, but here he switches his trajectory and delivers a deviously fun tale of a murderer who is committing crimes based off of a bookstore owner's blog list of "perfect crimes" in literature. This is an absolute delight.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top