Select language, opens an overlay
Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke

Book - 2019 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
1
1
A stunning debut for author Evie Dunmore and her Oxford Rebels in which a fiercely independent vicar's daughter takes on a powerful duke in a love story that threatens to upend the British social order. England, 1879. Annabelle Archer, the brilliant but destitute daughter of a country vicar, has earned herself a place among the first cohort of female students at the renowned University of Oxford. In return for her scholarship, she must support the rising women's suffrage movement. Her charge: recruit men of influence to champion their cause. Her target: Sebastian Devereux, the cold and calculating Duke of Montgomery who steers Britain's politics at the Queen's command. Her challenge: not to give in to the powerful attraction she can't deny for the man who opposes everything she stands for. Sebastian is appalled to find a suffragist squad has infiltrated his ducal home, but the real threat is his impossible feelings for green-eyed beauty Annabelle. He is looking for a wife of equal standing to secure the legacy he has worked so hard to rebuild, not an outspoken commoner who could never be his duchess. But he wouldn't be the greatest strategist of the Kingdom if he couldn't claim this alluring bluestocking without the promise of a ring...or could he? Locked in a battle with rising passion and a will matching her own, Annabelle will learn just what it takes to topple a duke....
Publisher: New York : Jove, 2019
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781984805683
1984805681
Branch Call Number: F DUNMO-E
Characteristics: 356 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

LibraryReads September 2019

Nothing says “must read” quite like a Librarian’s stamp of approval! Every month LibraryReads.org releases the top picks for the month, as voted on by Librarians across the country. Subscribe to Tacoma Library’s e-Newsletter service and get the Library Reads picks and more delivered straight to your inbox. Check out the LibraryReads’ picks for September 2019: Red at the Bone Bringing Down ... (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
VaughanPLBecca Dec 09, 2020

An unexpectedly good historical romcom. Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series (especially while waiting for the Netflix series. Can't wait!)

a
A1305846801
Oct 01, 2020

Thoroughly researched, intelligently written and a joy to read. What a fun ride!

b
Buzzymas
Sep 09, 2020

I love love love this book. Annabelle is a great character! Also the romance is cheesy but so fun to read.

l
lizharr
Sep 03, 2020

Mostly books email

s
Suellen1111
Aug 20, 2020

A witty, engaging story. Well written but with 3 or 4 dead-boring chapters in the middle. IOTB

JCLHebahA Apr 07, 2020

I don't know about other people, but everything being topsy-turvy right now has dented my reading mojo. This finally broke my reading drought with a great slow-burn romance between intellectual equals, with a great supporting cast of friends who have the heroine's back. Great debut; can't wait to see how this series unfurls.

t
TheresaAJ
Feb 18, 2020

This historical romance set in Victorian England features a heroine who studies at Oxford, participates in the woman's suffrage movement, and falls head over heels in love with a duke. Dunmore brings the era to life and also creates characters who are complex and slightly ill-at-ease with their place in Victorian society. The reader can't help but notice the vast gulf between Annabelle's perilous financial circumstances as a single woman and the luxurious lifestyle of her friends at Oxford. The author does a good job of portraying both sides of the social equation in this novel.

c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

What a fantastic debut for Evie Dunmore! If you are a fan of Julia Quinn and Sherry Thomas then this is the book for you! I can't wait for the next book in the series! Highly recommend!

JessicaGma Jan 05, 2020

A fun sizzling historical romance between a duke and a suffragette - it felt more modern than historical, but cracked along at a fierce pace and ended well. I liked this more than I thought I would.

rsmunoz Oct 22, 2019

Lots of fun! Not often do I read a romance about a suffragist and a duke. Emotional, entertaining, and lusty. Just the way I like 'em! 4 stars.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

cthaosoc thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

“Perhaps you can explain it to me, then,” she said, “how is it fair that my utterly inept cousin is in command of me, for no reason other than that he’s a man and I’m a woman? How is it fair that I master Latin and Greek as well as any man at Oxford, yet I am taught over a baker’s shop? How is it fair that a man can tell me my brain was wired wrong, when his main achievement in life seems to be his birth into a life of privilege? And why do I have to beg a man to please make it his interest that I, too, may vote on the laws that govern my life every day?”

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top