Select language, opens an overlay
No Judgments

No Judgments

Book - 2019 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8
The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island, Florida--and it's sending waves crashing through Sabrina "Bree" Beckham's love life... When a massive hurricane severs all power and cell service to Little Bridge Island--as well as its connection to the mainland--twenty-five-year-old Bree Beckham isn't worried... at first. She's already escaped one storm--her emotionally abusive ex--so a hurricane seems like it will be a piece of cake. But animal-loving Bree does become alarmed when she realizes how many islanders have been cut off from their beloved pets. Now it's up to her to save as many of Little Bridge's cats and dogs as she can... but to do so, she's going to need help--help she has no choice but to accept from her boss's sexy nephew, Drew Hartwell, the Mermaid Café's most notorious heartbreaker. But when Bree starts falling for Drew, just as Little Bridge's power is restored and her penitent ex shows up, she has to ask herself if her island fling was only a result of the stormy weather, or if it could last during clear skies too.
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062890047
0062890042
9780062913579
0062913573
Branch Call Number: F CABOT-M
Characteristics: 358 pages, 8 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

LibraryReads September 2019

Nothing says “must read” quite like a Librarian’s stamp of approval! Every month LibraryReads.org releases the top picks for the month, as voted on by Librarians across the country. Subscribe to Tacoma Library’s e-Newsletter service and get the Library Reads picks and more delivered straight to your inbox. Check out the LibraryReads’ picks for September 2019: Red at the Bone Bringing Down ... (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Gina_Vee Jan 04, 2021

I read this book mainly because I'd already read "No Offense" before I found out it's part of series/collection of books. The number one thing I liked about this book is that Bree finally finds someone who listens to her, believes her, and defends her about what happened to her. I don't know that there's many people who wouldn't appreciate this aspect of the story. I also liked that judgements was a theme in the book. Throughout the book, Bree focuses on not judging others for their life decisions, especially since so many factors go into the decisions people make for themselves. I also like the fact that Bree downplays the incoming storm until all of the locals convince her to take it a little more seriously. Finally, I liked that there's a wealthy family on the island who takes care of their community in times of crisis. There's so much to like about this book. I think it was a pretty good read.

VaughanPLDonnalee Dec 30, 2020

This was a fun, light, breezy romance by Meg Cabot. "Breezy" is a good word for it, since it takes place in the Florida keys as a hurricane approaches. There was lots that I enjoyed about this book, but I don't think this is a good guide to how to handle hurricanes! I liked the idea that Sabrina wanted to reinvent her life, by changing her name to Bree and moving to the Florida Keys, after her life had started to unravel. I liked that she took charge of her life and had made the decision to move and start over. But I found a lot of her attitude towards the hurricane and her refusal to take it seriously a bit annoying. I often thought Bree was being very silly. But, overall, I found this a light and amusing romance. I have enjoyed Meg Cabot's many adult romances over the years because they are funny. I wouldn't say this one was her best, but it was pleasant enough.

JessicaGma Nov 03, 2020

It's lighthearted and a bit schlocky, but sometimes you need a book that doesn't take itself too seriously. Bree is an animal lover and because she's from Away, isn't too fussed about the hurricane bearing down on the Keys, whereas Drew, local badboy, knows his way around hurricanes. Bree ends up caring for the animals left behind by those who escaped, and well mayhem ensues. It's a fun book full of colourful characters.

Tigard_AnnmarieA Jun 26, 2020

This breezy, heart-warming novel is a good pick for animal lovers and fans of romance. After an assault, a young woman from a wealthy family moves to a small island in the Florida Keys to escape her unsupportive though loving family and a crummy boyfriend, and finds herself in the middle of a hurricane. She creates a support network with neighbors and a romance interest and finds herself with a new role taking care of left behind pets.

m
mlinard
Dec 29, 2019

Good and quick read

p
PrimroseLarkin
Nov 06, 2019

A big thanks to Library Reads Sept 2019 for suggesting this book. I’ve always associated Meg Cabot with The Princess Diaries and a strictly YA author but she writes wonderful books for adults too! A fun modern romance with a great sense of place (Florida Keys) and a main character you are rooting for. Enjoyable read for animal lovers too.
For fans of Kristan Higgins and Jill Shalvis.

a
allysunsun24
Oct 01, 2019

There's just something about Meg Cabot's writing that makes me love all her books. With this one once I started it I could not put it down. I really liked the main characters and I love Little Bridge and all it's quirks(like being prone to hurricanes and floods). I really like Bree and her openness about what she wanted and how she was focusing on herself. I really like that she didn't give up on love even after what happened to her and that Drew supported her throughout it. Drew was so supportive and awesome while never taking away from the fact that she was strong enough to save herself. A very great read and I can't wait to read more set in this town.

d
darladoodles
Sep 19, 2019

Two people who begin the book as enemies find common ground in pet rescue after a hurricane. If you like a romance with a slow burn and that enemies to lover trope AND you love animals; this is the book for you. The release date is during hurricane season so it feels very timely. There is a veritable pet menagerie in the book and were given enough attention to really come to life through Meg Cabot's narrative. An entertaining read that also explores sexual assault, distress from a DNA reveal and dealing with the aftermath of a disaster. Some of the resolutions seemed a bit forces while others were very satisfying.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top