The Red Address Book

The Red Address Book

Book - 2019 | First U.S. edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy."--Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come . . . Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny--her American grandniece, and her only relative--give her great joy and remind her of her own youth. When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past--working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War--can she help Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris's life? A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise--and irresistible--storyteller.
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9781328473011
1328473015
Branch Call Number: F LUNDB-S
Characteristics: 260 pages ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Menzies, Alice - Translator

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

LibraryReads January 2019

Nothing says “must read” quite like a Librarian’s stamp of approval! Every month LibraryReads.org releases the top picks for the month, as voted on by Librarians across the country. Subscribe to Tacoma Library’s e-Newsletter service and get the Library Reads picks and more delivered straight to your inbox. Check out the LibraryReads’ picks for January 2019: Once Upon A River An… (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
darladoodles
Dec 21, 2018

An address book contains real history. Doris's red address book was given to her just as she was becoming a teenager in Stockholm. That little volume stays with her the rest of her life and travels with her to Paris, America, England and back to Stockholm. She has just turned 96 and as she looks through that little red book she writes down her memories for her great-niece, Jenny. Doris has not had an easy life, but she leaves an amazing legacy for Jenny. Their relationship was my favorite part of the story. Would make a thought-provoking book group selection.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top