The Wrath and the Dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
36
1
1
 …
Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi's wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she's falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.
Publisher: [New York] : [Penguin Young Readers Group], [2015]
ISBN: 9780698185890
0698185897
9780399171611
0399171614
0399176659
0147513855
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
InnisfilTeenReads Nov 27, 2020

This is hands down my favorite book I have ever read. The story begins with a girl named Shahzad who is out for revenge, meaning she is out to kill the King. The King, known as Khalid, has a reputation for taking on brides each day, and each dawn he orders for their deaths. Shahzad recently lost her best friend to Khalid’s evil tactics and she decides that enough is enough and that she will be the one to put an end to the killer King. She decides to marry the King and offer herself up as one of his brides to get closer to him and then murder him, however, all is not as it seems.

There are secrets both Khalid and Shahzad are keeping and despite all this, they seem to start to share feelings for each other. You must read the book to see how this enticing story ends and I must tell you it is worth it! Personally, I love enemies to lovers romance books and this book fits that category perfectly with the right amount of banter between the characters as well as affection. Moreover, there is a bigger problem in the story that slowly unveils itself as you read it and I love this about the book: there was never a dull moment.

I would recommend this book to those who love fantasy novels as well as of course enemies to lover's books. Those two aspects were executed in a well worthy manner by Ahdieh in her novel! I would say this book is similar to The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller in regards to the enemies to lovers aspect and the fact that in both the books the characters are trying to woo a King and murder a King but somehow they find love. All in all, I would most definitely recommend this book 100% as it has earned my 5 stars! - Marwa

s
sjarrell0
Nov 20, 2020

Thinking about buying a bull horn so that I can yell at people on the street to read this book. The end had me not only weeping but desperately wanting more. The story of Khalid and Shazi was vividly encapsulating.

10/10

5 stars

2 thumbs up

READ IT NOW.

c
cakenlee
Aug 31, 2020

This book has been made into a Webtoon and it is well deserved. The Wrath and The Dawn transports the reader into a world inspired by Arabian nights. At first glance, the book seems like just another romance novel, but it is much more than a simple romance story. The way Shahrzard can use her brain to outthink others and the Caliph is very interesting. She is a protagonist that fights not with swords, but with her tongue, which makes her very different from many young adult novel protagonists. I also appreciated the stories that Shahrzard would tell the caliph to buy time. Once you pick up this book, you won't stop reading, that's for sure! I recommend young adults to check out this book for some light reading. The webtoon version of this book is just as good and I can't wait to read the sequel of this book. A solid 8/10

s
supernova_reader
Aug 13, 2020

Fun book if you don't scrutinize it too much. Read it in one sitting because I knew if I put it down I wouldn't pick it up in a while. That being said, the imagery is amazing, no wonder it's being made into a webtoon. I also enjoyed the way the author shows off the unique setting, with mentions of culturally relevant instruments and architecture.

I am absolutely in love with this book. IN. LOVE. I haven't read a book I've loved this much in a very long time...worthy of so many more than five stars. These characters were so amazing, the world so rich and vibrant that I really felt like I was living in it. I felt as torn as Shazi and I just adored it.

Renée Ahdieh is an amazing Author. This book takes place in the middle east and has amazing plot, character development, and imagery. As the book goes on the characters become more defined and the whole thing becomes more intense. The way it is written makes you never want to put it down.

sjpl_rebekah Aug 29, 2019

I like the story of A Thousand and One Nights, so I was excited to read this YA adaptation. I was underwhelmed. This book did not do nearly enough to develop the story or the characters before jumping into the romance. The whole time I was thinking, they have spent hardly any time together, know almost nothing about each other, and yet they are deeply in love. After so many extraordinary girls before her, it is unclear why Shahrzad is the one who gets to live. She tells stories? So what. I personally did not find the stories she told to be that riveting and I was perplexed by the rapid passage of time. She tells one short story and then it's dawn. Hooray she lives to tell another tale! The king trusts Shahrzad implicitly, but again, why? I just didn't buy it.

I did enjoy the imagery and I listened to the book in it's entirety, so I didn't hate it. I would have loved to see the magic aspect fleshed out better. I saw great potential with that particular storyline, even if it didn't get a lot of page presence. I am on the fence about starting the next book The Rose & the Dagger.

s
staycity
Jul 04, 2019

What a horrible book, horrible writing(in every way), horrible characters and horrible story line.

First of all, the writing is so tedious and boring. I tried to read it all but it became a chore, not a fun way to use up my time. The writing content was odd, and I absolutely despised the random Arabic words here and there. The author should have made up her mind. Write it in ENGLISH OR IN ARABIC!

Secondly, the characters drove me crazy. Shahrzad, is weak in every way. She has ZERO backbone! I mean, if you want to kill someone, then don't fall in love with them after what 3 days, for at the most, and for no good reasons, oh no, even they didn't have 1 conversation. And it's not like she is lonely, why back at home, she had a frigging BOYFRIEND! Please, she has no excuse for that. Not only that, she really needs character development. As for Khalid, he is boring. I understand that there could be some really bad reason, for example someone is forcing you to kill all those girls but a curse was not only unrealistic and stupid, the curse itself was boring. Khalid too should have some character development. The other characters are stupid and pointless only there to make sure that there are other people in the world.

Last is the story line. The story picks up right away which is really unexpected because we, as readers, would need to have some connection with her dead best friend. Then we must gradually begin to get over her. Also this story is just boring because there is no meat and in the end when the big reveal happened, I was about to fall out of my chair of boredom and plain annoyance at the author's lack of imagination.

Thank god I finished this chore(it stopped being a book or a story a long time ago).

k
kmobuckeye
Feb 19, 2019

Really enjoyed this retelling - Great start to a series

JCLStefanieE Feb 18, 2019

Inspired by the stories in Arabian Nights, Wrath is first and foremost a romance wrapped in mystery and adventure. Perfect for fans of Rae Carson.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

rozanowak thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

Sexual Content: A couple scenes. Nothing too vivid

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
miraellie
May 01, 2020

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.
“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top