The Dollhouse

The Dollhouse

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
11
Rate this:
""The Dollhouse. That's what we boys like to call it. The Barbizon Hotel for Women, packed to the rafters with pretty little dolls. Just like you." Fiona Davis's stunning debut novel pulls readers into the lush world of New York City's glamorous Barbizon Hotel for Women, where a generation of aspiring models, secretaries, and editors lived side-by-side while attempting to claw their way to fairy-tale success in the 1950s, and where a present-day journalist becomes consumed with uncovering a dark secret buried deep within the Barbizon's glitzy past. When she arrives at the famed Barbizon Hotel in 1952, secretarial school enrollment in hand, Darby McLaughlin is everything her modeling agency hall mates aren't: plain, self-conscious, homesick, and utterly convinced she doesn't belong--a notion the models do nothing to disabuse. Yet when Darby befriends Esme, a Barbizon maid, she's introduced to an entirely new side of New York City: seedy downtown jazz clubs where the music is as addictive as the heroin that's used there, the startling sounds of bebop, and even the possibility of romance. Over half a century later, the Barbizon's gone condo and most of its long-ago guests are forgotten. But rumors of Darby's involvement in a deadly skirmish with a hotel maid back in 1952 haunt the halls of the building as surely as the melancholy music that floats from the elderly woman's rent-controlled apartment. It's a combination too intoxicating for journalist Rose Lewin, Darby's upstairs neighbor, to resist--not to mention the perfect distraction from her own imploding personal life. Yet as Rose's obsession deepens, the ethics of her investigation become increasingly murky, and neither woman will remain unchanged when the shocking truth is finally revealed"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Dutton 1852, [2016]
ISBN: 9781101985007
1101985003
9781101984994
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
behere
Jan 19, 2018

A book I could not put down. What I especially liked is Darby contrasting reporting a story via just words to a story with words and images. Also, watching Darby mature in her view of independence and love interests was heart-warming.

m
Mmc0119
Dec 14, 2017

I agree, a really great book. Like Davis's other story this one takes two stories and finds the link between these women. However, unlike her past one this one was not nearly as predictable. I love stories that have female characters as the protagonists, where I can relate. Additionally, the two different time lines weaving historical buildings and reality is beautifully done.

w
weezie1
Oct 09, 2017

A great book! It has a wonderful story line and I love to read about the 1950's activities taken on by the ladies of those era. I was a great book to take on vacation and have some down time to enjoy the adventures. The journalist and her partner at work was a great mix. Oct 2017

r
reader7176
Jul 20, 2017

Really good book for first time author Fiona Davis, I have read books before that had young women living in Barbizon Hotel for Women. It really interested me to learn the background of the Barbizon Hotel and the lives of the women who lived there. A well written and entertaining book. Look forward to more from this author.

AL_KATHY May 26, 2017

This quick read is set in 1952 New York City Barbizon Hotel for Women and 2016 Barbizon turned Condos. The story, setting and historical details makes this book come alive and tells the story of women many would overlook.

m
MHanover10
Mar 16, 2017

I loved this book! It was such a fascinating story! I remember reading about the rooming houses in New York where women could go and there were set rules they had to follow. I didn't know this one was famous with several famous people living there like Sylvia Plath (one month) and Liza Minelli. I liked how the story went back in time to 1952 when things were actually happening to 2016 with Rose doing research for her article. The ending did have a twist and then another twist. This was so well worth my time!

m
marthabelle
Mar 05, 2017

I wanted to love this, but I couldn't manage it. This is a dual-timeline story, with alternating chapters from 1952 and 2016, in which the characters in the present uncover the details of a mystery from the past. And I won't deny that the way Davis structured this book was clever; you never doubt that she knows exactly what she's doing, every step of the way. However--HOWEVER. The main character in the present, Rose, sincerely acts like a lunatic for much of this book, and it got hard to read about by the end. Davis' writing style is pretty workmanlike, too -- there's no sparkle to really draw you into the prose itself. I'd recommend this as a readalike for fans of Beatriz William's and Lauren Willig's books, with the caveat that, while Davis has a knack for plotting, she's not as skilled a writer as either of those other two authors.

d
D061145902
Feb 28, 2017

I loved this book. It was interesting to read this after I read The Girl Before. Both books deal with women who live in the present and in the past and have a mysterious building in their stories. Read both.

d
dentongirl13
Feb 16, 2017

I didn't find it very intriguing. There was part of me that want to keep reading to solve the mystery, but I ended up quitting part way through. I think it was mostly the writing style; I just wasn't engaging.

AL_JANEC Nov 12, 2016

Combine the allure of the grande dame edifice of the Barbizon Hotel in New York City with a mysterious death, add in two compelling, strong and intriguing female characters, then sprinkle with the spice of the story line alternating between the present and the 1950s and you have all of the ingredients to make THE DOLLHOUSE a most delicious read.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top