The Devourers

The Devourers

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"A dreamlike novel about a young historian and a persuasive and beguiling stranger coming together in modern-day Kolkata, India to transcribe an ancient journal. A collection of paper, parchment, and skins, the journal tells of bloodshed, kidnapping, magic and shapeshifting, set against the harsh landscapes of the 17th-Century Mughal Empire. It reveals the story of hunters and prey, lovers and the beloved, and, in the end, the choice to be transformed, or be quarry"-- Provided by publisher.
"For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination. On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man's unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger's behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins. From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman--and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok's interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent. Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel. Advance praise for The Devourers "A wholly original, primal tale of love, violence, and transformation. I've never read anything quite like it."--Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Rising Trilogy "Astonishing. a narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake."--M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts "Intense and thrilling. Indra Das's writing is powerful and precise."--Kim Stanley Robinson, author of Red Mars "Every sentence of this ferocious and extraordinary book pulses with life. An absolute masterpiece."--Daniel Jose Older, author of Half-Resurrection Blues "The Devourers tears the throat out of the traditional shapeshifter tale. With a story that spans cultures, generations, and mythologies, and characters that make your heart both pound and ache, this book will leave you breathless. You've never read anything like it, and you won't forget it anytime soon."--Mallory O'Meara, filmmaker"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Del Rey, 2016
ISBN: 9781101967522
1101967528
9781101967515
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
Taoish
Aug 05, 2017

One could just easily consume this book whole, but for me it was, mostly, savored as fine wine, imbibed lingeringly.

The last book that enraptured, personally, like this was The Life of Pi, by Yann Martel.

Philosophy, fantasy, metaphysics, aesthetics, time and place wholly realised amid wild, spanning, lucid narration.

This book is akin to walking through a poetic dreamscape, though beware that some of the topics are violently disturbing as much as other parts can be lushly gorgeous.

In part, an expository on humanity; mans' beastly temperament, the poetry of wildness, a meditation on mythos of the nature of time, place knowledge, folklore and the ever inevitable mystery of being.

But that still does not begin to touch the treasures of language and thought this book contains.

"...the most cowardly and lowest of human acts."

b
bwrogers
May 29, 2017

A story that will transport the reader. As I consider what books have recently impacted my sense of how a good story operates, Das' novel consistently returns to my mind. The book transcends its genre trappings, as good genre stories do. Prose that drips with violence, lust, and an utterly alien mentality that lurks just behind the curtain of the night. Put this on the top of your list.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top