Predator

Predator

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies - warlords, pirates, and arms dealers - from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now, Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced - and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780062276476
0062276476
Branch Call Number: F SMITH-W
Characteristics: 410 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Cain, Tom - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LindaMarion
Aug 03, 2017

not as good as previous books. okay

z
zipread
Jun 11, 2017

Awash in testosterone, this shoot 'em out action novel is none the less fun to read.As the wag who wrote the liner notes said: "international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure - thriller --- perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Claney, and Brad Thor." I don't know if that's praise. I've read Cussler and this is better. But, none the less, this doesn't represent Smith's best work. For that you've got to read the Egyptian series: that's where Smith's creativity soars.

m
Matthew412
Mar 18, 2017

Smith has fallen far since his glory days assuming that he had any contribution to this book other than his name. Really not worth reading. Gave up after the "unbelievable" prisoner escape breakout.

2
21Snewob
Mar 10, 2017

I began reading Wilbur Smith's books in the 1970's. Initially, his Courtney series stories were good stuff. Sadly, as time went by, his books have now degraded in quality, plausibility and impact. The Hector Cross series have hit rock bottom. No longer can readers be satiated by the banal gruesome descriptions of torture and sexual degradation totally out of context to the story and way too fantastic. The plot of the book 'Predator' not really a plot at all, just a string extremely improbable (or impossible) occurrences strung together and passed off as exciting story-lines. In addition, several of Smith's books have increasingly revealed his penchant for penning irrelevant scenes of bizarre violence and sexual degradation but now this is totally excessive.

I could not recommend this Bannock series to anyone and even the later ancient Egyptian series contain this creeping tendency to shock which is highly tenuously related to the plot.

Sorry Wilbur, you had better find another hobby, you have shot your bolt.

e
Expepsiee38
Jan 05, 2017

First time reader of Smith and not impressed with characters or story. Over the top and not plausible fiction. Fleming or Childs is better.

d
dannnn
Jun 19, 2016

Disappointment. Old Wilbur has burned out and his co-author hasn.t carried on. Pretty weak

nothing close to his early books.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top